If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Full Throttle Speed Tech Support > Standard MAF Translator Support > DSM MAFT Support
User Name
Password
Home Online Store Product Manuals FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-05-2004, 02:35 AM
kpt4321's Avatar
kpt4321 kpt4321 is offline
DSM Geek
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New England
Posts: 553
Default

Right. If you switch mode 4 back to "off" with all the knobs zeroed out, then you will have all the base settings zerod out. You need to write down where they are.
__________________
...Kyle T.
1993 Talon Tsi AWD "TURBO4"
The Manhattan Project
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-06-2004, 09:21 PM
jetdriven jetdriven is offline
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 47
Default

So I adjust the base mode with the knobs. shut the car off and switch pin 4 up to enter mode 4. tune the car.

Do I leave the mode 4 on or is it active when it is on base mode and I am tuning the BASE-IDLE-MID-WOT?? basically does it remember the mode 4 settings when the pin #4 is turned off.


Quote:
Originally Posted by kpt4321
Right. If you switch mode 4 back to "off" with all the knobs zeroed out, then you will have all the base settings zerod out. You need to write down where they are.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-06-2004, 10:46 PM
TurboBob TurboBob is offline
Resident Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Near Detroit
Posts: 7,625
Default

The memory only works in one direction.

When Mode 4 is on, the unit remembers the 'base setup', so it frees up the dials to adjust more stuff.

So:
1. MAF mode (Mode 4 off) is used for the basic tune.
2. Write the settings down.
3. Ensure the unit had time to save the settings (10 sec)
4. key off. Turn Mode 4 On, Set dials to zero.

Unit is now running in "RPM" mode and uses the dials, 2% per click, for fine tuning. If the RPM signal is not present, then MAF breakpoints are used in this mode.



Bob
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-07-2004, 12:45 AM
V8KillerTSi V8KillerTSi is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Arecibo, Puerto Rico
Posts: 221
Send a message via MSN to V8KillerTSi
Default

ok...I understand perfectly...and for a mid size turbo...like a 60-trim...what do you recomend RPM or Hz??? I think Hz would be more precise but they can be very hard to tune...correct me if I'm wrong here.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-08-2004, 04:07 AM
kpt4321's Avatar
kpt4321 kpt4321 is offline
DSM Geek
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New England
Posts: 553
Default

Use both modes, MAF mode to setup, RPM mode to fine tune.
__________________
...Kyle T.
1993 Talon Tsi AWD "TURBO4"
The Manhattan Project
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-08-2004, 09:08 PM
V8KillerTSi V8KillerTSi is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Arecibo, Puerto Rico
Posts: 221
Send a message via MSN to V8KillerTSi
Default

ok... I'm probably wrong here but...is hooking the RPM wire optional???if so which way do you think it will be better to use with a 60 trim??? I just wrote wrong the first question
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-09-2004, 05:11 PM
jetdriven jetdriven is offline
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 47
Default

so if you turn mode 4 off, does it remember the mode 4 rpm -based settings, or is it only active when mode 4 is selected??


Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboBob
The memory only works in one direction.

When Mode 4 is on, the unit remembers the 'base setup', so it frees up the dials to adjust more stuff.

So:
1. MAF mode (Mode 4 off) is used for the basic tune.
2. Write the settings down.
3. Ensure the unit had time to save the settings (10 sec)
4. key off. Turn Mode 4 On, Set dials to zero.

Unit is now running in "RPM" mode and uses the dials, 2% per click, for fine tuning. If the RPM signal is not present, then MAF breakpoints are used in this mode.



Bob
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-09-2004, 05:41 PM
kpt4321's Avatar
kpt4321 kpt4321 is offline
DSM Geek
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New England
Posts: 553
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by talon_boy69
ok... I'm probably wrong here but...is hooking the RPM wire optional???if so which way do you think it will be better to use with a 60 trim??? I just wrote wrong the first question

Depends on what you mean by "optional."

You don't need it for the MAFT to run, and you do not need it to use the "MAF Mode" of the translator.

However, if you want to use the RPM mode (for WOT fine tuning), then you do need the wire attached.
__________________
...Kyle T.
1993 Talon Tsi AWD "TURBO4"
The Manhattan Project
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-09-2004, 05:43 PM
kpt4321's Avatar
kpt4321 kpt4321 is offline
DSM Geek
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New England
Posts: 553
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jetdriven
so if you turn mode 4 off, does it remember the mode 4 rpm -based settings, or is it only active when mode 4 is selected??

I don't think it does. That's what he meant when he said it only worked one way.

So, if you have a bunch of WOT fine tuning settings, and you go back to the base (MAF) mode, then you will lose your WOT fine tuning settings until you turn the switch #4 back on. Then you can put them back where they were, or do whatever you want with them.
__________________
...Kyle T.
1993 Talon Tsi AWD "TURBO4"
The Manhattan Project
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-09-2004, 09:53 PM
V8KillerTSi V8KillerTSi is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Arecibo, Puerto Rico
Posts: 221
Send a message via MSN to V8KillerTSi
Default

ohhh ok I see...I don't remeber that the 2.08 had this rpm tuning...my bad. About saving the RPM setting... well..you really have to do a nice work setting with the idle, mid and wot...set them the best you can, this may take a while, then go for RPM tuning, the trims will take action later so there's no need to go back only if you change inyectors or some other thing.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Full Throttle Speed & Style All Rights Reserved