If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Full Throttle Speed Tech Support > Scanmaster & PowerLogger Support > Buick PowerLogger & Scanmaster Support
User Name
Password
Home Online Store Product Manuals FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2009, 08:08 PM
TurboBob TurboBob is offline
Resident Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Near Detroit
Posts: 7,625
Default PowerLogger driver manual installation

The latest versions have a Drivers folder in the PowerLogger folder. Inside it are 2 .INF files.

right click the ftdibus.inf file and choose install

right click the ftdiport.inf file and choose install

That should be all that is necessary to install the drivers.

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-18-2010, 04:44 PM
tvelotta tvelotta is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboBob
The latest versions have a Drivers folder in the PowerLogger folder. Inside it are 2 .INF files.

right click the ftdibus.inf file and choose install

right click the ftdiport.inf file and choose install

That should be all that is necessary to install the drivers.

Bob

Bob,
PL install was as per directions and is working. Question is should I have grounded the WB sensor to the PLogger or any ground?
Thanks
Ted V
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-18-2010, 10:46 PM
TurboBob TurboBob is offline
Resident Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Near Detroit
Posts: 7,625
Default

what wideband?

is the wideband working?

but, in general, no. do not connect stuff to the ground or +5 pins of the PL if there is a chance of anything larger than microcurrents flowing.

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-18-2010, 10:50 PM
tvelotta tvelotta is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 16
Default

YEs it is working. But read where the WB might be inaccurate if not grounded properly. PLX WB.

thanks again
Ted V
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-18-2010, 10:57 PM
TurboBob TurboBob is offline
Resident Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Near Detroit
Posts: 7,625
Default

ground the PLX to the engine, it should be fine.

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-27-2010, 11:14 AM
v8killr4u v8killr4u is offline
Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Detroit
Posts: 36
Default

I need help with this driver install for windows 7. I have copy and pasted the new drivers folder on my laptop, but no where do i see an option to install when I right click on the inf icons. I contacted Full Throttle and the tech guy is not in. Please help...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-27-2010, 11:17 AM
v8killr4u v8killr4u is offline
Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Detroit
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by v8killr4u
I need help with this driver install for windows 7. I have copy and pasted the new drivers folder on my laptop, but no where do i see an option to install when I right click on the inf icons. I contacted Full Throttle and the tech guy is not in. Please help...

Wait the Laptop and PL have to be connected to do this correct? (Install drivers that is)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-27-2010, 11:23 AM
TurboBob TurboBob is offline
Resident Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Near Detroit
Posts: 7,625
Default

yes.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-27-2010, 11:09 PM
v8killr4u v8killr4u is offline
Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Detroit
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboBob
yes.

Well I've tried this again and everytime I try to downlaod it says "The INF file you selected does not support this method of installation"

What am I doing wrong.....
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-27-2010, 11:15 PM
TurboBob TurboBob is offline
Resident Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Near Detroit
Posts: 7,625
Default

the later versions of windows (vista, 7) are cranky on the drivers and the INF files. They invented a new way to install drivers. (Gee, thanks Micro$oft)


anyway, if you have the unit plugged in and turned on, and Windows does not locate the new hardware and try to install drivers, then you can try this.

open the device manager by right-clicking on "Computer" and select "manage", navigate to the device manager and open it up. It shows a tree view of all the components and accessories in your computer. at the top of the tree, try right-clicking and select "Install Legacy Driver" or something like that. It should let you pick the INF file, and install it for you.

Bob
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Full Throttle Speed & Style All Rights Reserved