If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Full Throttle Speed Tech Support > Scanmaster & PowerLogger Support > Buick PowerLogger & Scanmaster Support
User Name
Password
Home Online Store Product Manuals FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2007, 11:18 AM
TurboBob TurboBob is offline
Resident Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Near Detroit
Posts: 7,625
Default PowerLogger minimum laptop requirements

PowerLogger will work on anything Windows 98SE or higher.

CPU requirements: Pentium II, 233 mhz or faster, 192 meg RAM, a few spare Gig on the hard-drive, USB port. This is the bare minimum, and will function ok.

PowerLogger is USB only. Windows 95 and NT do not support USB.

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-22-2007, 12:15 AM
TurboBob TurboBob is offline
Resident Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Near Detroit
Posts: 7,625
Default Lockups and slow response on some computers

On some computers PLC may be slow to respond when logging or recording.

It has been reported on 2 machines, both Pentium-II.

Starting with version 1.2.0 you can set the frames per sec setting on the F3 page to 18 to fix this problem. Both of the affected machines ran well when set to 18.

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-11-2009, 05:56 PM
Coach Coach is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1
Default Hello Bob

Bob, I was wanting to know if my old work lap will run a Powerlogger. It is a Gateway with Windows Me 4.90.3000, Intel Celeron, 160.MB Ram, 32bit.
Please let me know,
Thanks
Coach
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-11-2009, 06:01 PM
TurboBob TurboBob is offline
Resident Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Near Detroit
Posts: 7,625
Default

should be fine, I run it on a Pentium2 300mhz machine with Windows 98.

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-10-2009, 10:06 AM
UnderPressure UnderPressure is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: S Carolina
Posts: 5
Default Hard Drive Memory Req'd?

Bob, what's the typical memory requirement for "each PL run",,, and I presume that leads up to your spec'd "several gigs memory" required minimum?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-10-2009, 04:56 PM
TurboBob TurboBob is offline
Resident Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Near Detroit
Posts: 7,625
Default

the logs get big because we are logging at a high rate.

Windows stores it all in its memory system which includes the hard disk swapfile. The more RAM you have the better it will all work. (typical of all things Windows).

By some rough calculations, the logfile grows at .3M per minute. I need to check this with some actual testing as there is some overhead in the logfile.


Really, though, the PL has pretty modest requirements.

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-11-2009, 09:39 AM
UnderPressure UnderPressure is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: S Carolina
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks Bob, I am just having a difficult time finding an inexpensive, used laptop meeting this minimum criteria--with the "several gigs memory...". I'll just keep looking though, & saving my money twds the PwrLgr itself...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-11-2009, 10:47 AM
TurboDave's Avatar
TurboDave TurboDave is offline
I spend too much time here
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Seymour, TN
Posts: 1,330
Send a message via MSN to TurboDave
Default

You don't really need several "gigs" of memory to use it to it's fullest. Not even one gig.
The actual min. memory requirement is "192 meg RAM".

I've only got 480meg of ram and a smallish 60gig harddrive on my HP, and it's MORE than enough computer to run PL!!!!! I not only run and record with powerlogger, but also Turner Pro RT, and a full MS office suite. It's my home office and car computer. Don't get all wrapped up in the memory requirements. Unless you plan on making a lot of REALLY long recordings, although you shouldn't have such a need.
__________________
TurboDave EWCS(SW) USN (Ret.) (1965-1988)
Email us
Sevierville, TN
TranslatorPro MAFless fuel, spark, boost and fuel pump management

Now using SD2 system.

86 GN(TranlatorPro/ExtenderPro on speed density w/boost and fuel pump control,PLX-WB)
87 GN(stock, for show)
01 Excursion LTD 7.3L PSD(Power Stroke Diesel), Turbo, 4X2 (big puller)
12 Lincoln MKT, 3.5V6 Twin Turbo Ecoboost 365HP (driver)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-11-2009, 12:22 PM
TurboBob TurboBob is offline
Resident Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Near Detroit
Posts: 7,625
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UnderPressure
Thanks Bob, I am just having a difficult time finding an inexpensive, used laptop meeting this minimum criteria--with the "several gigs memory...". I'll just keep looking though, & saving my money twds the PwrLgr itself...


I'm not sure where I said "several gigs of memory", I did say a "few spare gigs" of hard drive space.

What's your budget? What else are you going to use the machine for?

B
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Full Throttle Speed & Style All Rights Reserved