If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Full Throttle Speed Tech Support > MAF Translator Pro > MAF Translator Pro General Discussion
User Name
Password
Home Online Store Product Manuals FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-17-2012, 06:16 PM
JSAautomotive JSAautomotive is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Default

You've given me a reason NOT to sell my 87 GN now. Lol!

Question. I purchased my MafTPro back in 2005 or 2006 I think. I purchased the timing map chip, the lead to relocate the air temp sens & a 3bar map sensor (I think) & a H.D. boost solenoid. I noticed this 5.0v of the tuner pro software. Will this download into my unit? Hardware and chips are compatible? I guess the data cable I got should give me access to the unit via my laptop. I have an old laptop running Windows Vista w/a serial port. Do you recommend using my newer Toshiba laptop w/Windows 7 and a USB port instead? I also noticed the warning about some Serial to USB adapters.

Any help is welcome. Thanks. John.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-18-2012, 02:31 PM
TurboBob TurboBob is offline
Resident Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Near Detroit
Posts: 7,625
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSAautomotive
You've given me a reason NOT to sell my 87 GN now. Lol!

Question. I purchased my MafTPro back in 2005 or 2006 I think. I purchased the timing map chip, the lead to relocate the air temp sens & a 3bar map sensor (I think) & a H.D. boost solenoid. I noticed this 5.0v of the tuner pro software. Will this download into my unit? Hardware and chips are compatible? I guess the data cable I got should give me access to the unit via my laptop. I have an old laptop running Windows Vista w/a serial port. Do you recommend using my newer Toshiba laptop w/Windows 7 and a USB port instead? I also noticed the warning about some Serial to USB adapters.

Any help is welcome. Thanks. John.

The Tunerpro software runs in the laptop and just communicates with the Pro, There is newer software that goes in the Pro also, and is version 5.27. The software is loaded into the unit using a utility called TPCU, which you can download from this forum.

Either laptop should work, but Win7 can be a little goofy at times. (I use XP and Vista here) Use the laptop with the best battery, because the cig lighter cords have been problematic for some guys.

Bob
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Full Throttle Speed & Style All Rights Reserved