If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Full Throttle Speed Tech Support > MAF Translator Gen 2 > GEN 2 General Discussion
User Name
Password
Home Online Store Product Manuals FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-25-2012, 10:28 PM

Default 1g dsm help

I'm totally new to the dsm world as I just bought my first one about a month ago and have been fixing it and finding all the little bugs in it. Its a 90 eagle talon tsi awd with a 5 speed. I plan on getting the maf translator gen 2 but I don't know if it will let me eliminate the fuel cut like the gen 1 does. Does the gen 2 do everything the gen 1 does just more features and tuning abilities?
Old 10-03-2012, 01:13 AM
Resident Mad Scientist

yes, much more flexible. Fuel cut is "eliminated" when you go to larger injectors and compensate by reducing the airflow signal.

You can also run a chip that has the fuel cut removed.

What sort of modifications are done to the car?

Bob
Old 10-03-2012, 10:25 AM

From what me and some friends have been able to find it has a cheap 16g turbo (which I think is shot cause it won't start to spool till like 3k and I'm getting oil in my piping and it's got a bit of shaft play), balance shaft eliminator kit, ARP head studs, catalytic converter had been cut out and has a cheap can on the end, k&n intake, hard inter cooler piping after the inter cooler, a/c removed, all emissions vacuum lines bypassed and egr blocked off, and pretty sure the head is ported
Old 10-03-2012, 10:26 AM

And it might have a bigger fuel pump but not sure yet cause I haven't had time to drop the tank to look
Old 10-03-2012, 02:57 PM
Resident Mad Scientist

don't DSMs have an access panel to get to the fuel pump? My Stealth did...

Bob