If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Full Throttle Speed Tech Support > MAF Translator Gen 2 > GEN 2 General Discussion
User Name
Password
Home Online Store Product Manuals FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-13-2010, 03:37 PM
v8killr4u v8killr4u is offline
Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Detroit
Posts: 36
Default Gen II Issues, Pig Rich

I have the GEN II with Bob Bailey chip installed in a friends car. The MAF is a "Cobalt" MAF, so he refers to it. Its the MAF pre-installed in Full Throttles 4" MAF.

My issue is, the car is pig rich on start up and idel and adjusting the Low fuel parameter doesn't seem to make any difference. What parameter should I adjust in the GENII and what would you recommend I start with.

My other question is, should I be able to install the chip and the default settings be close?

Any pointers or suggestions are much appreciated. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-13-2010, 04:24 PM
TurboBob TurboBob is offline
Resident Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Near Detroit
Posts: 7,625
Default

what chip (part number please)

What are the settings in the Gen-2?


Generally speaking, you should be able to set the settings and be darn close.

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-16-2010, 03:42 PM
v8killr4u v8killr4u is offline
Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Detroit
Posts: 36
Default

Part Number on the chip is: GWOX7BOG
4" MAF
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-17-2010, 02:31 PM
v8killr4u v8killr4u is offline
Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Detroit
Posts: 36
Default

Well I went htru the configuration set up and tried to start the car.
Car started and ran alot smoother than it did before. It was still rich but ran way better than before. Turned the car off to restart and the car wouldnt start again.

What could cause that problem? Im not sure we have the correct MAF selected in the config. setup?

I was told the MAF pipe has "Cobolt" MAF sensor and the ship was calibrated for this particular MAF...I selected 4" MAF in the Translator...Theres all kind of MAF options in the Translator and CObalt isnt one of them....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-17-2010, 03:43 PM
v8killr4u v8killr4u is offline
Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Detroit
Posts: 36
Default

Can you confirm my Configuration Settings or what they should be:

MAF = selected, 4" MAF (This is a Cobolt MAF and not sure which one should be selected becuae the cobolt MAF is not one of the choices)
Chip = selected, Cant remember from memory? I have the Extender Extreme G ship (What is the correct chip selection?)
#Cyl = selected, 6
Displacement = selected, 3.8
Load source = selected, MAF/RPM
Wideband = selected, LC1
Aux Log = selected, no aux log no extra input
V-Out 1 = selected, Use set point
V-Out 2 = selected, Use set point
WOT Spark = selected, ALKY start @ 21*
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-17-2010, 11:25 PM
TurboBob TurboBob is offline
Resident Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Near Detroit
Posts: 7,625
Default

what software version is in that Gen-2?

Can you check the "User Tn" reading on the sensor monitor screen?

The chip is an Extender Extreme G, so the MAF Out needs to be set to Extreme/Pro

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-20-2010, 02:42 PM
v8killr4u v8killr4u is offline
Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Detroit
Posts: 36
Default

Forgive my ignorance, but what is the "user TN" reading and what should it read? Forgive my ignornace, I'm just trying to help a friend; where do I read it. Im assuming on the display of the GEN 2.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-20-2010, 02:48 PM
TurboBob TurboBob is offline
Resident Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Near Detroit
Posts: 7,625
Default

on the Gen-2 if you hold the page button, the up and down buttons will change the screen to different pages.

one of these pages is the sensor monitor page.

UserTn is short for "User Tune" and is the total of all the user adjustments that the Gen-2 is using. It should be close to 0.

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-20-2010, 05:01 PM
v8killr4u v8killr4u is offline
Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Detroit
Posts: 36
Default

OK, Ill take a look.

The Translator reads version 1.03 when powered up...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-20-2010, 05:07 PM
v8killr4u v8killr4u is offline
Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Detroit
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboBob
on the Gen-2 if you hold the page button, the up and down buttons will change the screen to different pages.

one of these pages is the sensor monitor page.

UserTn is short for "User Tune" and is the total of all the user adjustments that the Gen-2 is using. It should be close to 0.

Bob

I wanted to be clear on what the number in "User Tune" meant. Does it represent the number of adjustments we've made to the tune from the base setting?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Full Throttle Speed & Style All Rights Reserved