If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Full Throttle Speed Tech Support > MAF Translator Gen 2 > GEN 2 General Discussion
User Name
Password
Home Online Store Product Manuals FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-10-2009, 06:24 PM
apacolypse_d apacolypse_d is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2
Default User tune settings not saving

So I just got the Gen II the other day and it works great, tunes accurately and is pretty simple to work with. However I can not get it to save any of the tuning settings, it remembers my input and output, and high load, but it changes my mid load to all +62% and my low load becomes either 0 or -62%, every time i shut the car off and turn the key back on. Can anyone please tell me what the heck is going on?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-10-2009, 07:54 PM
TurboBob TurboBob is offline
Resident Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Near Detroit
Posts: 7,625
Default

the memory management in the unit must have gotten out of sync.

Do a memory reset and you should be fine. Hold the upper right button for 15 sec while powering up the unit, keep the button held until the display says "all memory reset"

Bob

(can you tell me what version software is in that unit? Its displayed when the unit powers up)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-10-2009, 09:14 PM
apacolypse_d apacolypse_d is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2
Default

Thank you I will give that a try first chance i get, and I believe it is still version 1.02.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-07-2012, 02:50 PM
boost75 boost75 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: ny
Posts: 11
Default

Im having the same problem. I reset it and it still changes my mid load to +62% can anyone help?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-07-2012, 03:17 PM
boost75 boost75 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: ny
Posts: 11
Default

its running version 1.12
I have a 99 mitsubishi 3000gt vr4 bone stock except for the folowing mods
3.5" gm maf
maft gen 2
hks bov
gutted precats, high flow main cat, and a borla carback

the only reason why I run a gm maf sensor is because I use a hks bov that vents to the atomsphere. I have been using this setup for years with the regular maf translator made for that car with just the injectors set and everything else set at zero with never a problem. till one of my friends offered me the maft gen 2 as an even swap for my regular maf translator. I took the deal and now im stuck with it.

can anyone help I know nothing about computers and reflashing. and this is my daily driver.
bill

Last edited by boost75 : 09-07-2012 at 03:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-07-2012, 04:42 PM
TurboBob TurboBob is offline
Resident Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Near Detroit
Posts: 7,625
Default

i'm not sure why the reset didn't fix the problem, the best answer is to update to the latest stuff.

to reflash the Gen-2 you need the logging cable, the software to do it is posted on this forum, or I can email it to you.

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-07-2012, 05:08 PM
boost75 boost75 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: ny
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboBob
i'm not sure why the reset didn't fix the problem, the best answer is to update to the latest stuff.

to reflash the Gen-2 you need the logging cable, the software to do it is posted on this forum, or I can email it to you.

Bob
is this something that is easy to do? can I use a serial cable? with a usb adaptor to my laptop? Im not sure I know what i doing.

Last edited by boost75 : 09-07-2012 at 05:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-07-2012, 05:31 PM
TurboBob TurboBob is offline
Resident Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Near Detroit
Posts: 7,625
Default

its easy

the cable for the Gen-2 is a serial cable, but its a non-standard flavor. Its female-to-female, wired "straight thru". With a standard serial cable, you will need a F-F "gender changer".

Most USB adapters work, we have had a few issues with Belkin brand.

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-07-2012, 05:54 PM
boost75 boost75 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: ny
Posts: 11
Default

ok thanks I will give it a shot. can you email me the software update?
thanks again

also when I reflash it do i keep it connected to the car and powered up? or disconnect it from the harness and flash it?

Last edited by boost75 : 09-07-2012 at 07:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-08-2012, 12:30 PM
TurboBob TurboBob is offline
Resident Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Near Detroit
Posts: 7,625
Default

you need to have power connected to the Gen-2.

send me your email address to bob(at)bailey-eng(dot)com

B
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Full Throttle Speed & Style All Rights Reserved