If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Full Throttle Speed Tech Support > MAF Translator Gen 2 > GEN 2 General Discussion
User Name
Password
Home Online Store Product Manuals FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-24-2006, 11:53 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Full Throttle Guy
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Clinton Twp. MI.
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to admin
Default Turbo Buick GEN 2 Initial Set Up

GEN 2 Setup for Turbo Buick

Install per the instructions, This will walk you through the Configuration

Turn the key on DO NOT TRY TO START.
Set the MAF Input to:
  • GN stock Maf if using stock MAF sensor (why bother?)
  • 3” MAF LT1 if using 3” aluminum sensor from Impala SS
  • 3.5” MAF LT1 if using 3.5” aluminum sensor for F-body or Vette
  • LS1/LS6 85MM if using all black plastic 85MM sensor
Press the RANGE button down and press DOWN ARROW once without releasing RANGE, display should switch to MAF output.
Set the MAF output using the ARROW buttons to:
  • GN Commander if using a Commander chip in the ECM
  • GN Extender is using and Extender chip in the ECM
  • GN Ext/Pro if using the Gen or the Pro chip (recommended)
  • GN Stock MAF if using anyone else’s chip (please be aware that wide band tracking and WOT fuel adjustments will not work correctly)
Press the RANGE button down and press DOWN ARROW once without releasing RANGE, display should switch to # of Cyl
· Set to 6 using the ARROW buttons
Press the RANGE button down and press DOWN ARROW once without releasing RANGE, display should switch to Displacement.
· Set to engine size using the ARROW buttons 3.8 is standard motor if you have a 4.1 set it at 4.1
Press the RANGE button down and press DOWN ARROW once without releasing RANGE, display should switch to Load source
· Set to use MAF/RPM using the ARROW keys
Press the RANGE button down and press DOWN ARROW once without releasing RANGE, display should switch to Wideband O2.
· If you have a wideband use the ARROW buttons to select it from the list by brand name, if you do not select none
Press the RANGE button down and press DOWN ARROW once without releasing RANGE, display should switch to Aux Log Mode this will select a special input to display either boost or EGT on the screen select using the ARROW buttons
· No Aux Log no extra input
· Log EGT (requires EGT probe and adaptor sold seperatly)
· Log 2 Bar (connect to 2 Bar Map Sensor)
· Log 3 Bar (connect to 3 Bar Map Sensor)
· Log 3.5 Bar (connect to 3.5 Bar Map Sensor)
· Log 5 Bar (connect to 5 Bar Map Sensor)
Press the RANGE button down and press DOWN ARROW once without releasing RANGE, display should switch to V-Out1 Mode select using the ARROW buttons
· Use Set point (select this if using a chip other than the Pro/Gen 2 chip)
· SPK Control (select this if using a GEN2/Pro chip)
· Volt Maf (not used for Buick)
Press the RANGE button down and press DOWN ARROW once without releasing RANGE, display should switch to V-Out2 Mode.
  • Use Set point (select this if using a chip other than the Pro/Gen 2 chip)
  • SPK Control (select this if using a GEN2/Pro chip)
  • Volt Maf (not used for Buick)
SYSTEM SETTINGS
This will give you an idea of setup options and what they do. Press and hold the PAGE button and use the ARROW buttons to switch between CONFIG and SYSTEM SETTINGS. Press and hold PAGE button use the ARROW to select system settings.


Press and hold RANGE button and use the UP ARROW to get to main scale. Main Scale will add or subtract fuel across the board start at zero and move if needed, usually not on a Buick

Press and hold RANGE button and use DOWN ARROW to get to F Out Max – set to zero

If you DO NOT have and EXTREME G PRO chip from Full Throttle start car and then skip down three steps

If you DO have an EXTREME G PRO chip DO NOT start car Press and hold PAGE button and ARROW down to WOT SPK and adjust wot timing Timing can be adjust from 2000 RPM up in 500 or 1000 RPM steps this is done by using the ARROW keys to adjust timing and then pushing and holding the RANGE button and using the ARROW keys to move from RPM point to the next RPM point.
Default 15 degrees
93 octane start at 18 degrees
ALKY start at 21 degrees
112 or better octane start at 24 degrees
You will have to see what your car likes, it may want more or less timing. More timing make more power at the same boost. Some cars like less timing at high RPM

Start the car.

Welcome back non extreme chip users. How is the car running, is it rich or lean at idle, check the block learn (you DO have a scan tool, right?) Press the PAGE button and ARROW up to user tune low, go to the rpm your car idles at and add or subtract fuel to get it right. Go to the RPM above and below this point and do the same to smooth things out if subtract 10% at 800 RPM do the same at 4000 and maybe subtract 5% at 1200 to make a smooth transition. Is the Idle right? If not fix it, you have all the power you need

Now drive the car a bit work out the fuel if need be it will likely be pretty good if the chip is close and they usually are.

Make a WOT blast and watch the O2 voltage or better yet your wide band. If the car is rich or lean Press and hold the PAGE and ARROW down to USER TUNE HIGH Adjust the fuel at the different RPM point to correct it.

Don’t get hung up on “numbers” if the car wants 40% give it 40% that does not mean anything is “wrong”

If you need help the first place to go is www.fullthrottletech.com in the GEN 2 section and make a post or do a search.

You can download this in the user manual section
Mike
__________________
When the student is ready, The teacher will appear
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-18-2007, 11:26 PM
Bishir Bishir is offline
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 80
Default

Set the MAF Input to:
  • GN stock Maf if using stock MAF sensor (why bother?)
  • 3” MAF LT1 if using 3” aluminum sensor from Impala SS
  • 3.5” MAF LT1 if using 3.5” aluminum sensor for F-body or Vette
  • LS1/LS6 85MM if using all black plastic 85MM sensor




Shouldn't that say 3.5 MAF LS1 ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-06-2007, 01:10 AM
thatdamngn's Avatar
thatdamngn thatdamngn is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 3
Default 4in maf pipe

Set the MAF Input to:
  • GN stock Maf if using stock MAF sensor (why bother?)
  • 3” MAF LT1 if using 3” aluminum sensor from Impala SS
  • 3.5” MAF LT1 if using 3.5” aluminum sensor for F-body or Vette
  • LS1/LS6 85MM if using all black plastic 85MM sensor
On the mass air sensor what do you use if you run the 4in maf pipe with metter ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-06-2007, 01:31 AM
TurboBob TurboBob is offline
Resident Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Near Detroit
Posts: 7,625
Default

4" MegaMAF but be sure your Gen-2 is version 1.07

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-06-2007, 01:43 AM
thatdamngn's Avatar
thatdamngn thatdamngn is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 3
Default Thanks

Thanks, its the 1.07
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-15-2007, 12:42 AM
one_bad_gn one_bad_gn is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboBob
4" MegaMAF but be sure your Gen-2 is version 1.07

Bob

Do you know if you can wire the MAT from the Turbo Buicks into the IAT of 4" MegaMAF sensor? And if so why don't people make a harness for this. Any info on this will help.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-03-2007, 11:53 AM
SlickTR SlickTR is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thatdamngn
Thanks, its the 1.07

The instructions I have say version 1.02 on them, will this not work with my 4 inch MAF pipe? Can I select one of the other options?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-25-2009, 10:36 AM
crestiksa's Avatar
crestiksa crestiksa is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Россия
Posts: 3
Default Turbo Buick GEN 2 Initial Set Up

Well....too late to get specs...I bought the car I got one of the 8 Yaris Tsport Turbo that we have here in CR Ill be posting some pics pretty soon Thanks for the help BTW
__________________
Умный дом в одной коробке - умный дом. Умные дома! Доступно.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-09-2010, 02:02 PM
powder powder is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa area
Posts: 7
Default timing adjustments/ Gen II

A question popped into my little cranium when doing the initial setup of my updated Gen II. I have alky and was going to use 21* timing as suggested but also have timing bumped 2* additional in the extreme chip. Does this yield a cumulative 23* or does one override the other?
BTW, thank you for upgrading my Gen II software at no charge. I'm sending a check to cover shipping that you didn't bill me for.

Merle Hoosier
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-09-2010, 11:54 PM
TurboBob TurboBob is offline
Resident Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Near Detroit
Posts: 7,625
Default

the timing setting in the chip adds timing in first and second gear.

So if the Gen-2 is set to 21, and you have 2 degrees in the chip, then first and second gear will be 23 degrees.

Bob
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Full Throttle Speed & Style All Rights Reserved