If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Full Throttle Speed Tech Support > Scanmaster & PowerLogger Support > General Scanmaster Questions
User Name
Password
Home Online Store Product Manuals FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-31-2009, 09:09 PM
joshua joshua is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: TN/KY
Posts: 4
Default Scanmaster 2.1 problems

Hey I was trying to find out whats wrong with my scanmaster when I'm driving my car under no boost my readings jump all over the place one minute it will be reading O2's the next it will jump by it's self to temp and then to MPH and then back to O2's or the face will look like this ---- ---- and it will show anywhere fro 10.0 to 57.0 degs of knock under no boost what gives
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-01-2009, 12:13 AM
TurboBob TurboBob is offline
Resident Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Near Detroit
Posts: 7,625
Default

under what conditions is this happening? Cold engine, warm engine?

Does it get worse if you hit the brakes?

You are getting errors in the data. This can be caused by a bad connection, or noisy data from the ecm.

The main cause of noisy data is the low speed fan relay. Its a long story, but the ECM uses a pulsing output to turn on the low speed fan relay which generates a string of spikes. Some ECM's pass these spikes thru to the datastream. Some ECMs are worse than others.

The Scanmaster has a noise filter to handle these spikes, but a really noisy ECM can still mess the data up.

So, try unplugging the middle relay on the driver's side fender underhood and see if it goes away.

Bob

(or you have a bad ground connection on your scanmaster.....)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-01-2009, 04:53 PM
joshua joshua is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: TN/KY
Posts: 4
Default

warm engine, and it's ok if I hit the brakes last night it just shut off all together on my way home from work I checked the ground and its good I'm thinking I may need a new one I got it back in 04 when I was in IRAQ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-01-2009, 05:01 PM
TurboBob TurboBob is offline
Resident Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Near Detroit
Posts: 7,625
Default

no need to buy a new one, send that one in and we can check it out.

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-01-2009, 07:01 PM
joshua joshua is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: TN/KY
Posts: 4
Default

cool
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-07-2009, 12:08 AM
joshua joshua is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: TN/KY
Posts: 4
Default

BOB,
I've sent my scanmaster out today via UPS. I just sent it to Fullthrottle I hope thats ok?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-07-2009, 04:10 AM
TurboBob TurboBob is offline
Resident Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Near Detroit
Posts: 7,625
Default

thats the right place to send it
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Full Throttle Speed & Style All Rights Reserved